A favorite stay: Kyomachia Ryokan Sakura

First I neatly folded and stored the futon in a closet with thin sliding doors (there were instructions), next I left my indoor slippers on a mat before I stepped into the bathroom slippers and then changed back as I exited the tiny bathroom. I took delight in this daily ritual during our stay at a ryokan in Kyoto.

_DIN7156

_DIN7164

 

 

It was my first time in Japan four years ago with friends and I wanted to stay in a traditional Japanese guesthouse because I thought it was one of the best ways to experience traditional Japanese culture.

 

 

_DIN7126 _DIN7171

Tucked in a quiet neighborhood in Kyoto, ours was a small and modern it also had western style rooms. There was also a choice between traditional and western breakfast and guess what? We chose western.

L1000191

 

 

 

 

 

What I liked about the ryokan was the subdued and relaxed atmosphere. It was just the kind of place I would want to come home to after a long day of exploration. It had a convenient location near stores and tiny eating-places in the neighborhood but which we only noticed during our last day.

_DIN7174_DIN7216

What was the highlight of my stay? Nights of very good sleep in my comfortable and cozy futon.

L1000336 _DIN7200

http://www.kyoto-ryokan-sakura.com

L1000184

Leave a Reply

