Plaka, Athens – Neighborhood of the Gods

I had to walk a little slow at first. I found it slippery walking on the marble streets of Plaka, the oldest section of Athens and known as the neighborhood of the Gods probably because of its close proximity to the Acropolis. So close, it’s just right below it.

_DIN3502

_DIN3504

Athens was our stopover between trips to the islands and with very limited time of three days, Plaka made for the perfect base to visit the city’s known sites. Right after my friends and I checked in at our hotel and after a quick lunch of moussaka, we went on our separate ways to explore the neighborhood.

Untitled-1

_DIN3496

_DIN3537

 

I didn’t know where to start. Each corner looked attractive with colorful neoclassical mansions left behind by affluent Athenian families in the 19th century. Some were restored and converted into restaurants, museums, specialty and souvenir shops vying for visitors’ attention.

A map is useful when you walk around and while I had one, I decided to keep it in my bag and allowed myself to get lost in the maze of narrow streets and alleyways that lead me uphill.

 

 

_DIN3535

Distracted by the fantastic elevated view of Athens and Plaka, I hardly noticed that I had reached a quiet and quaint whitewashed neighborhood in the slopes of the Acropolis rock. There were signs along the way leading to the Acropolis which I followed thinking I was near its entrance only to find a locked gate. Its probably opened only in the summer when there are more tourists.

_DIN3525

_DIN3529

Back down, I continued to survey Plaka and chanced upon more interesting sections of the neighborhood. Its got a quiet side and a lively one with a bohemian feel.

_DIN3543

I enjoyed my time checking out the rows of shops selling anything from sponges to a variety of local leather goods and others selling more special things like books, Byzantine jewelry and a liquor store that is one, if not the oldest distillery in Athens.

Untitled-2

_DIN3505

_DIN3499

A short walk along more shops took me to Monastiraki where the ruins of the ancient Agora of Athens and Hadrian’s library are.

L1030509

L1030488

I took another direction and I was in Syntagma square, the heart of modern day Athens.

_DIN3896

Plaka was the City of Athens. It is said that its main street, Adrianou is the oldest in Athens and uses exactly the same layout since antiquity. Thanks to strict zoning and conservation regulations, electrical and utility lines are kept underground and its streets are closed to motorized vehicles.

_DIN3909

I wouldn’t mind another stopover someday.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

From Swerve of Shore

A Blog by Photographer Aaron Joel Santos

The Smart Way Round

Travel blog of two overland adventurers and now family travellers. Just because you have kids doesn't mean the adventure stops.

travelux

Travel In Style

Intermissions

Married Life and Leisure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

