Enthralling Wadi Rum

“No man can live this life and emerge unchanged. He will carry.. the imprint of the desert… and he will have within him the yearning to return…. For this cruel land can cast a spell which no temperate clime can match.’” T.E. Lawrence

Still ecstatic after my Petra experience, I thought there was no other place in Jordan that was magnificent. I was wrong.

Entering Wadi rum was like entering a different world.

_DIN2268 The stirking landscape with towering sandstone and granite mountains is rich with colours. _DIN2588 I was in awe of the natural scenery. _DIN2293 Made famous by T.E. Lawrence “Lawrence of Arabia” a member of the British Forces who passed the area several times during the Arab revolt of 1917-1918, He described Wadi rum as  “vast, echoing and godlike” _DIN2297 Standing near the towering red rocks made me feel insignificant. _DIN2277 _DIN2331 People living in Wadi Rum are of Bedouin origin and belong to seven tribal groups. One of which, the Zalabia tribe make up the majority of people living in Rum Village. _DIN2380 _DIN2357 They are largely responsible for the tourism services within the reserve and are always pleased to take visitors around the rum and answer questions about Bedouin life. Just like my driver, who spoke very little english but who was very hospitable and patient as I taught him how to operate my camera and take my picture. _DIN2271 _DIN2319 L1050198 You can get around the rum in one day by jeep or by camel but I stayed the night for a little bedouin style camp experience which I enjoyed very much. L1050243 _DIN2419 In the evening, guests gathered around the fire for tea and dinner of Zarb, a Bedouin barbecue which is cooked under the sand for hours. _DIN2510 Wadi Rum has one of the most beautiful sunrise and sunset, sadly my photos do not do justice to the real thing. _DIN2410 _DIN2525 The scale and magnitude of Wadi Rum’s extraordinary surroundings is surreal and overwhelming, inviting and peaceful even magical. _DIN2284 _DIN2262 It definitely cast a spell on me.

3 thoughts on “Enthralling Wadi Rum

Leave a Reply

